IT Help

Have an IT question?

How can we help you?

Our Best Answer

Does the data on my Deakin Desktop managed Mac get backed up?

Staff members are responsible for ensuring University data is safely stored on central University servers, such as mounted workgroup shares or SharePoint areas. As an additional safety net, your Deakin Desktop Mac automatically performs a backup to ensure that data is copied to a Deakin eSolutions backup server for safekeeping.

When does the backup run?

A backup automatically initiates every time you log into the computer while it is connected to the ethernet (wired) network. If you are only connected to the Wi-Fi network when you log in, or if you connect to the wired network after you log in, a backup is not initiated.

Backups are not performed at log out, as they can take several minutes to complete and would hold up your log out action.

Where are the backups saved?

Backup data is saved to a dedicated eSolutions-managed backup share on the same server as your network home directory (but is not saved into your network home directory).

  • smb://username.homes.deakin.edu.au/my-backups

The backup share is connected before the backup starts, and is disconnected when the backup completes. An icon for the backup share will usually not appear on your computer, as the backup is intended to be as transparent as possible.

What gets backed up?

The Documents, Desktop and Library folders in your home folder are all backed up to the server. Other folders are not included in the backup and you should ensure this data is regularly copied to a workgroup share for safe keeping.

If you log into multiple computers, the backed up folders from each computer are stored separately from each other. This ensures logging into one computer does not affect the data that was backed up on another.

What does not get backed up?

Only the Desktop, Documents and Library folders are backed up. Other folders in your home folder, whether they are there by default or created by the user, are not backed up.

The following types are also excluded from the backup:

  • Mac and Windows applications (*.app, *.exe)
  • Parallels, VirtualBox and VMware Fusion virtual machine drives
  • Browser and application caches
  • DVD video sources (VIDEO_TS)
  • iTunes libraries
  • iPhoto libraries
  • Copies of the Outlook database created by an optimisation or repair ("Main Identity Backed Up")
  • IMAP caches
  • Temporary files
  • Non-data application support files (e.g.: *.framework, *.dylib, GoogleSoftwareUpdate)

How do I know if a backup is running?

  1. Open Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor and look for one or more processes called "rsync". This is the tool that does the file copying.
  2. A log file is created during the backup with details about the activities being performed. You can view the log file by opening Applications > Utilities > Console. Expand the section in the sidebar labeled "~/Library/Logs" and then click the "Deakin_Backup.log" item.

  3. While the backup is running, Console will continue to show updates to the log file in real time.


Did this answer your question?